Charged as a Teen Driving Without a License?
Driving is a privilege in the state of Arizona, and this is why there are clear restrictions about who can and cannot be on the road. The driving restrictions you should be aware of depend on your state and location, but it pays to steer clear of being caught driving without a license regardless of where you are.
Learner’s Permit Details
In the state of Arizona, driver’s licenses and permits have several different stipulations. An individual must be at least 15 years and 6 months old in order to obtain a learner’s permit. This allows the student driver to operate the vehicle while a parent or other qualified adult is in the front seat helping to provide direction. Drivers must be 16 years old for a Class G graduated license and 18 in order to obtain a Class D license.
Offenses Related to Driving Without a License As A Teen
Driving in Arizona without a driver’s license is a problematic offense whether you’re a teen or attempting to drive under a suspended or revoked license. Being charged as a teen driving without a license could result in a class 1 misdemeanor.
If charged, you’ll likely have two appearances in court. The first is known as your arraignment, and during this appearance you’ll need to enter a plea for the charges you are facing. You can plead not guilty, guilty, or, in some cases, no contest. If you plead guilty or no content to the charges you are facing, how the case moves forward depends on the severity of your charge.
For minor infractions, the judge will note your plea and inform you of your sentence. If you are facing jail time, however, you will move forward to receiving dates for your trial or pretrial conference.
Penalties Related to Teenage Driving Without a License
This offense, in Arizona, carries a maximum penalty of $2,500 in fines and up to 6 months in jail. This can, however, be less severe depending on the circumstances of your case and whether the judge is willing to work with you. Having an Arizona criminal defense attorney on hand to help you navigate this process can give you a clearer idea about what to expect and what your next steps should be. Even if this is the first offense you are facing, it’s a good idea to work with a Mesa criminal defense attorney so that you are clear about your rights.
If you have been sentenced, you will need to either pay the entire amount upfront or set up a payment plan. If you were ordered to serve time in jail, you will also be held accountable for completing this requirement before you can even be considered to get your license. The Arizona DMV retains the right to extend the time for your application for a driver’s license up to 1 year. Make sure your Mesa criminal defense lawyer has told you about all the possible consequences before you move forward with your case.
This blog should be used for informational purposes only. It does not create an attorney-client relationship with any reader and should not be construed as legal advice. If you need legal advice, please feel free to contact Mesa Criminal Attorney, Garrett L. Smith at 480-540-6021 log on to www.mycriminaldefenselawyeraz.com, or contact an attorney in your area.